Captain vs President Match 2023

The annual fourball match between the Captain and the President took place today, 23rd September. The teams were selected on a ‘random’ basis from the 30 players that signed up to play with them. The pairings were announced at the excellent pre-match brunch provided by Steve and Teresa and their team.

A shotgun start saw the eight teams set off in mild and sunny conditions on a course that had become a bit damp after the recent rain. Last year the previous President, Roger Foster, had just beaten the Captain, Phil Taylor on countback after a 4-4 draw, so this year Phil was hoping for a reverse of fortunes.

It all came down to the completion of the last match with President Dereck Martin’s team eventually winning 5-3. Phil gracefully passing the Harold Gledhill trophy over to Dereck at the ceremony after the game.

Thanks to all who supported the event.