The Chris Barron Memorial Trophy

Our Seniors section played for the Chris Barron Memorial Trophy today in an annual betterball match versus friends from Coxmoor golf club.

The match alternates venue from each Club. Last year at Coxmoor they took the trophy on countback after a 3-3 draw. This year it was Alfreton’s turn to host the event. A big thankyou to John Clarke for sorting out the details and to Brian Brooks for bringing his Coxmoor team along.

The result this year was a 5-1 victory to Alfreton with 4 wins and 2 halves among the 6 games played. There were also prizes for the top three stableford scores. A close run thing with the top 5 places being taken by home players as follows:

1st: Paul Eveson – 36pts
2nd: Dave Lowe – 35pts
3rd: Trevor Parrett – 35pts
4th: Nigel Savage – 35pts
5th: Stan Munks – 35pts

Thanks to all who participated, we look forward to the return game in 2024.